Our Qualifications and their Meanings

CFP... CLU... MBA... ChFC... EA... CFS ???

Our commitment to you and our profession is embodied by the skills and designations we have acquired. We know Attitude is important but Knowledge and Experience is critical to your success and our success. With over a century of financial planning and tax preparation experience our advisors are seasoned and tested.

We are dedicated to developing lasting relationships with all our clients. We believe in helping you assess your financial goals and participate in the management of your finances.

To help you better understand and interpret the credentials we carry we have provided descriptions of them below.


Certified Financial Planner® (CFP®)

The CFP® mark is offered - and governed - by the Certified Financial Planner® Board of Standards in Washington, DC. The CFP® designation is perhaps the most widely recognized credential in the field today. Those with the CFP® designation have demonstrated competency in all areas of financial planning. Candidates complete studies on over 100 topics, including stocks, bonds, taxes, insurance, retirement planning and estate planning. The program and curriculum is administered by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards and contains five core courses and a comprehensive 10-hour board exam. A Certified financial planner works with individuals to help them understand their options and make financial decisions suited to their personal financial situation and goals.


Certified Fund Specialist® (CFS®)

These individuals often advise clients on investing.. The Institute of Business and Finance (IBF), formerly known as the Institute of Certified Fund Specialists, provides training for the CFS.. The knowledge these CFS designees hold is kept current through their continuing education requirements.


Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC ®)

The Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®) credential was introduced in 1982. Individuals with the ChFC designation have demonstrated their vast and thorough knowledge of financial planning. The ChFC® program is administered by the American College. This designation has the same core curriculum as the CFP® designation, plus additional elective courses that focus on various areas of Personal financial planning. The ChFC® designation is awarded to persons who complete a 10-course program of study and 20 hours of exams. Like those with the CFP designation, professionals who hold ChFC® charter help individuals analyze their financial situations and goals.


Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®)

The CLU® is widely considered to be the oldest and most respected insurance designation in the industry. This designation was created in 1927 issued by the American College, and those who hold it work mostly as insurance agents. The CLU® designation is awarded to persons who complete a 10-course program of study and 20 hours of exams. The course covers the fundamentals of life and health insurance, pension planning, insurance law, income taxation, investments, financial and estate planning, and group benefits.


Enrolled Agent (EA)

An Enrolled Agents is a tax professional authorized by the U.S. government who is able to represent taxpayers in matters concerning the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Only enrolled agents are required to demonstrate to the IRS their competence in all areas of taxation, representation and ethics before they are given unlimited representation rights before IRS. Unlike attorneys and CPAs, who are state licensed and who may or may not choose to specialize in taxes, all enrolled agents specialize in taxation. Enrolled agents must pass a comprehensive examination which covers all aspects of the tax code, or have worked at the IRS for five years in a position which regularly interpreted and applied the tax code and its regulations.


CTEC Registered Tax Preparers (CRTP)

A CTEC Registered Tax Preparer is a tax preparer who is registered with The California Tax Education Council (CTEC). The CTEC is a California non-profit Corporation founded under the legislative authority, which was established by the California State Legislature to promote competent tax preparation within the State of California. CRTPs must: complete 60 hours of qualifying tax education, complete 20 hours of continuing tax education each year and always maintain a $5,000 tax preparer bond.

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

The Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a master's degree in business administration earned through an university or college that provides theoretical and practical training to help graduates gain a better understanding of general business management functions. The MBA degree can have a specific focus such as accounting, finance or marketing. An MBA has shown to have a higher level of subject mastery, well above those with only undergraduate degrees. Most major universities and colleges provide MBA programs, which comprise of an additional two years of graduate study.



We're looking forward to using our expertise to help you pursue your financial goals.